About Penang

Penang is a vibrant State with its capital, George Town, having the rare distinction of being a UNESCO World Heritage Site. It is a true melting pot of cultures with its blend of Eastern and Western influences. Retaining many of the values adopted during its era of British rule, Penang bears a charm that is unique to itself.
Traveler Information

Currency
The Malaysian currency is Ringgit Malaysia (RM) which comes in notes and coins. Major currencies can be exchanged at most hotels, banks and licensed money changers. One Ringgit Malaysia is approximately USD 0.24.

Time Zone
Penang operates on Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) + 8 hours.

Weather
Malaysia’s year-round tropical weather has sunny days with occasional rainfall and the average temperature ranges from 24°C to 34°C.

Attire
Business attire is most appropriate for attending Congress and business functions. For sightseeing or shopping, light cotton clothing is advised. Most malls and restaurants are air-conditioned.

Electricity
220–240V AC at 50 cycles per second. Standard UK-type three pin plugs are used.

Water
Bottled mineral water is easily available in shops, restaurants and supermarkets.

Entry Requirements / Visa / Passport
Travelers must hold a valid passport or travel document with a minimum of six months beyond the intended period of visit. Most nationalities do not require visas for social or business visits. For more information, please check the status in www.imi.gov.my or check with your local consulate. If you require a letter of invitation to facilitate your visa application, please contact the Congress Secretariat.

Access by Air
Getting to Malaysia is easy with over 40 airlines, including Malaysia national carrier - Malaysia Airlines. Malaysia's primary gateway is the state-of-the-art Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KLIA). Visitors may be required to stopover at Kuala Lumpur city before embarking on a different flight en route to Penang International Airport. Penang International Airport sees incoming flights from many international destinations, such as China, Hong Kong, Singapore, Thailand, Indonesia, Taiwan, Vietnam and Qatar.

Airlines that operate flights to Penang include

Air Asia - http://www.airasia.com/

Batik Air - https://batikair.com

Cathay Dragon - https://www.cathaypacific.com/cx/en_CN/cathaydragon/introduction.html

China Airlines - http://www.china-airlines.com

China Southern Airlines - http://www.csair.com/en/

Citilink - https://www.citilink.co.id

Firefly - https://www.fireflyz.com.my

JetStar - http://www.jetstar.com

Lion Air - http://www.lionair.co.id

Lucky Air - http://www.luckyair.net

Malaysia Airlines - http://www.malaysiaairlines.com

Malindo - https://www.malindoair.com

Qatar Airways - http://www.qatarairways.com

Scoot - https://www.flyscoot.com

SilkAir - https://www.singaporeair.com

Sriwijaya Air - https://www.sriwijayaair.co.id/

Thai Smile - https://www.thaismileair.com

More Information